Monthly Writing Update

image

So this definitely hasn’t been the most productive month of my life but, surprisingly, I actually got a good amount of stuff done. Not everything I wanted to get done, but since I started a new job this month and training has been difficult, I’m trying to cut myself some slack.

FEBRUARY GOALS

  • Write 2900 words. Done! Somehow, lol.
  • Write 6000 words. Didn’t happen. Figures.
  • Work on a story outline. I did this! I got pretty far into Ex-Light Side before burning out a bit.
  • Write a short story. Didn’t even get close.
  • Post 6 Tips for Teen Writers. Yep, done. And it actually… Blew up. I’m not sure how I feel about it, because I put months into my Walking Dead post, a topic I think is different and interesting, and that got like… 6 notes lol. Do me a favour and check that out.
  • Completely outline March’s post. Done!
  • Completely draft March’s post. Also done!
  • Read 100 pages of a book. Literally did this in one single night.
  • Read 200 pages of a book. Didn’t even start.
  • Post drawing of Deceit. Done!
  • Draw a DND character. I actually got really far into drawing my wood elf, Nessa! But I didn’t have time to finish it.
  • Personal goal involving my pets. Didn’t quite happen.
  • Try out Google Keep. I’ve been doing that! All the outlines and ideas for my blog posts are on Google keep, all of my monthly goals, and some other stuff. I really like it so far.
  • Complete eight in-car maneuvers. Basically, just practice driving. I did this.
  • Apply for 16 jobs OR get a job. I got a fucking job bitch!!!!!!!

10/15. So I won this month! I don’t know how, considering the last two weeks I’ve been doing nothing but going to work and sleeping, but… Cool!

MARCH GOALS

  • Write 6200 words. That’s 200 a day on average. I… Think I can do that.
  • Post Panic Cord. I finished the outline and I’m pretty excited to start drafting. It’s a pretty short story, only three parts. I doubt it’ll be more than 50 pages, if that. Sounds doable.
  • Finish writing Murder in Riverpine Mine. My party and I decided that, to make up for the fact that we can only get together every other week, one night we do my brother’s campaign, and the next night we do mine. We did my first session and pretty much burnt through all the material I had. I mean, I have a lot MORE material, but nothing that’s concrete enough for me to pull off right now. So I have some work to do.
  • Post March’s blog post.
  • Completely outline April’s blog post.
  • Completely draft April’s blog post. 
  • Finish reading If I Was Your Girl. If I just, like, told myself to shut the fuck up and start reading, I would burn through it so fast and I would enjoy it lol.
  • Post drawing of Nessa. I don’t know if I’ll actually have time to do this with work, and it’s not high on my priority list, but… I’d like to. Mostly because I want to start drawing my tiefling character…
  • Get better at work. It’s hard 🙂
  • Practice driving. I need!!! a fucking!! license!!!! right now!!! and also a car lol. License is pretty much useless without a car.

So that’s only ten goals, but I really need to focus on work while I’m still in this trial period. I think I’ll probably put my blog posts and my DND campaign on the top of the priority list, followed by Panic Cord. I’d be seriously surprised if I won this month, but we’ll see, I guess.

Writing updates tag list:

@impossiblelibrary
@writinginslowmotion
@lucifer-in-my-head
@alcego-writes
@devan-faye-art
@viragosouls
@lyssthewriter

Leave a comment